Philosophae in medias, pt. III

My third and, for now, probably my last post on the subject of women in the medieval philosophy curriculum is from Christina Van Dyke. Check out her blog for Twisted Knickers and Medieval Women, which is her very extensive (and entertaining!) response to my earlier query.

2 comments on “Philosophae in medias, pt. III

  1. Ignazio A Angelelli says:

    Dear In Medias Phil, thanks again for the so interesting information I keep receiving from you.. I wonder if I may mention to you a little question I have entertained for a long time…In a letter dated 1968 from my dissertation supervisor I.M.Bochenski (I was his student at the Univ of Fribourg in Switzerland 1958-1965), he says he is enormously happy while visiting the Phil Dept of the Univ of Pittsburgh, full of logicians and people interested in the history of logic. To describe his happiness he uses the following Latin sentence: nutrior intentionibus secundis et quidem nulla materia extranea commixtis. If he told me about the source of this quotation…I forgot; may be his invention, I do not know. Perhaps somebody out there recognizes the phrase…Anyway, not at all a matter of life or death, just curiosity. Thanks again for your posts, cordially, I. Angelelli. Prof. Emeritus, Philos Dept, Univ of Texas at Austin.

  2. Jason Aleksander says:

    Excellent post. Mysticism in general doesn’t get enough play in the way professional philosophers teach philosophy and the history of philosophy. Rather than see mysticism as a very loose name for a variety of methods, genres, or branches of inquiry that express and contribute to inquiry on some pretty standard (canonical) questions in the history of philosophy, it seems to me that most professional philosophers see “mysticism” as intrinsically un-philosophical. This would be bad enough operating from an assumption that mysticism has nothing to contribute to contemporary philosophy, but it seems fairly clear to me that even historians of philosophy tend to treat mystical methods, genres, etc. as if–contrary to fact–they were already marginal even in their own times. Fortunately, a better appreciation of mysticism AND a better appreciation of the role of women in the philosophy of the Middle Ages can contribute to each other. Obviously these questions aren’t equivalent, but both in scope and import, efforts to address these questions have the potential to be mutually sustaining. Thanks, Christina, for your post, and thanks, Bob, for inviting it.

Leave a Reply

